




Public Protection Cabinet 
Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction  

500 Mero Street 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 

502-573-0365 Fax: 502-573-1598 

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE APPLICATION 
Please type or print application. Answer all questions on this application. 

A prorated, nonrefundable application fee made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or electronic payment shall be 
submitted with this application. See attached Fee Schedule. 

 

 
1. Please check one: Individual License  Business License  

2. Name:   
Last First MI 

Address:   
(Street, Route or Box Number) 

 
City:    State:    Zip:    

County:     Telephone: ( )    -  

Birth Date:   

E-Mail Address:   

Check if applicable:   I am eighteen (18) years of age or older. 
 

3. Company Name (If applicable):   

Address:   
(Street, Route or Box Number) 

 
City:   State:   Zip:   County:   

 
Telephone: ( )   -   Federal ID Number:   

4. Please indicate to which of the above addresses you prefer to receive mail from the Department: #2:   #3:   

5. The following information must be submitted with this application: 
a.  Mark which is applicable:  Test results or  Reciprocity. Attach proof and required documentation for 

either selection. 
b. Proof of Insurance: Insurance Certificate showing compliance with KRS 227A.060(1)(c) and 815 KAR 35:060. 
c. Associated ME Name and License Number:   

Licensed Contractors are required to have a Master license holder associated with his or her license at all times. If you 
are applying for a contractor license and NOT a master license, you must provide the Master’s license number. 

I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, any other state, or the United States. YES   
or NO . 

 

If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you might not receive an Electrical Contractor license at this time. Please 
contact the Department for further information. 

 
 
Signature: Date:   

 

 
 
 
 

 
Form EL-2 (October 2024) 

 
Attach a recent 

passport-sized, color 
photograph of 

applicant taken within 
the last six months. 



Form EL-2 (October 2024)  

Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction 
Electrical Licensure 
Application Fee Schedule with Pro-Rating 
 

• Electrical Contractor $400.00 for two-year (24-month) period 
 

o Depending on the month in which you apply, your initial electrical license may be pro-rated according to the following schedule. 
o Your electrical license renewal will then be in your birth month, every two years. 

 
 
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JANUARY 

JANUARY APPLICATIONS  

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  

•   Electrical Contractor  $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in FEBRUARY 

FEBRUARY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  

•   Electrical Contractor  $383  $400  $217  $233  $250  $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in MARCH 

MARCH APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

22 23  24  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  

•   Electrical Contractor  $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in APRIL 

APRIL APPLICATIONS  

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  

•   Electrical Contractor  $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333  
  

If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in MAY 

MAY APPLICATIONS 



Form EL-2 (October 2024)  

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  

•   Electrical Contractor  $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JUNE 

JUNE APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  

•   Electrical Contractor  $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JULY 

JULY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  

•   Electrical Contractor  $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267   $283  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in AUGUST 

AUGUST APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  

•   Electrical Contractor  $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250   $267  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in SEPTEMBER 

SEPTEMBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  

•   Electrical Contractor  $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233   $250  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in OCTOBER 

OCTOBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  

•   Electrical Contractor  $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217   $233  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in NOVEMBER 

NOVEMBER APPLICATIONS 
 

 



Form EL-2 (October 2024)  

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  

•   Electrical Contractor  $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in DECEMBER 

DECEMBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  

•   Electrical Contractor  $217   $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400  
 
*To determine the appropriate prorated fee amount, please find the month in which your application will be post-marked and select your birth 
month. For example, if you are applying for a Contractor Electrical license in January and your birth month is June, you would pay $283. 



Public Protection Cabinet 
Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction  

500 Mero Street 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 

502-573-0365 Fax: 502-573-1598 

ELECTRICAL LICENSE APPLICATION 
Please type or print application. Answer all questions on this application. 

A prorated, nonrefundable application fee made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or electronic payment shall be 
submitted with this application. See attached Fee Schedule. 

 

 
1. Designate the type of license: Master Electrician License  Electrician License  

 
2. Name:   

Last First MI 
Address:   

(Street, Route, or Box Number) 
 

City:   State:   Zip:   
 

County:   Telephone: ( )   -  

Birth Date:   
 

E-Mail Address:   

Check if applicable:   I am eighteen (18) years of age or older. 
 

3. The following information must be submitted with this application: 
 

a. Mark which is applicable:  Test results or  Reciprocity. Attach proof and required documentation for 
either selection. 

b. Work experience: Provide documentation and verification of work experience in accordance KRS 227A.060(2) or (3) 
and 815 KAR 35:060. If a training program or education program is being applied instead of work experience, 
provide documentation and verification of completion of a training program or education program. If completing a 
four (4) year training program in accordance with KRS 227A.060(3)(b)2., provide verification of completion of two 
(2) years of the program.  
 

c. If you would like to utilize military experience towards your electrical license application please attach a completed form 
ELM-1, Military Experience for Electrical Licensure. 

I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, any other state, or the United States. 
YES   or NO  . 
If you marked yes you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you may not receive an electrical license at this time. Please 
contact the Department for further information. 

 
 
Signature:   Date:   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Form EL-3 (October 2024) 

 
 

Attach a recent 
passport-sized, color 

photograph of 
applicant taken within 

the last six months. 

DO NOT USE STAPLES 



Form EL-3 (October 2024) 
  

Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction 
Electrical Licensure 
Application Fee Schedule with Pro-Rating 
 

• Master Electrician $200.00 for two-year (24-month) period 
• Electrician  $100.00 for two-year (24-month) period 

 
o Depending on the month in which you apply, your initial electrical license may be pro-rated according to the following schedule. 
o Your electrical license renewal will then be in your birth month, every two years. 

 
 
 
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JANUARY 

JANUARY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  

•   Master Electrician  $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192  
•   Electrician   $100   $ 54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in FEBRUARY 

FEBRUARY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  

•   Master Electrician  $192  $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183  
•   Electrician   $50  $100  $54  $58  $63  $67  $71   $75  $79   $83   $88   $92 
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in MARCH 

MARCH APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

22 23  24  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  

•   Master Electrician  $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175  
•   Electrician   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88  

 
 
 



Form EL-3 (October 2024) 
  

If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in APRIL 

APRIL APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  

•   Master Electrician  $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167  
•   Electrician   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in MAY 

MAY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  

•   Master Electrician  $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158  
•   Electrician   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JUNE 

JUNE APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  18  

•   Master Electrician  $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150  
•   Electrician   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in JULY 

JULY APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  17  

•   Master Electrician  $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133   $142  
•   Electrician   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in AUGUST 

AUGUST APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  16  

•   Master Electrician  $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125   $133  
•   Electrician   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63   $67  



Form EL-3 (October 2024) 
  

 
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in SEPTEMBER 

SEPTEMBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  15  

•   Master Electrician  $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117   $125  
•   Electrician   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58   $63  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in OCTOBER 

OCTOBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  14  

•   Master Electrician  $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108   $117  
•   Electrician   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54   $58  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in NOVEMBER 

NOVEMBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  13  

•   Electrical Contractor  $233   $250   $267   $283   $300   $317   $333   $350   $367   $383   $400   $217  
•   Master Electrician  $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200   $108  
•   Electrician   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100   $54  
If you apply for your initial electrical 
license in DECEMBER 

DECEMBER APPLICATIONS 

→ and your birth month is   JAN   FEB   MAR   APR   MAY   JUN   JUL   AUG   SEP   OCT   NOV   DEC  
your license will be issued for # 
months: 

13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23  24  

•   Master Electrician  $108   $117   $125   $133   $142   $150   $158   $167   $175   $183   $192   $200  
•   Electrician   $54   $58   $63   $67   $71   $75   $79   $83   $88   $92   $96   $100  

 
*To determine the appropriate prorated fee amount, please find the month in which your application will be post-marked and select your birth 
month. For example, if you are applying for a Master Electrician’s license in January and your birth month is June, you would pay $142. 



Form EL-14 (October 2024)  

Public Protection Cabinet 
Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction  

500 Mero Street 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 

502-573-0365 Fax: 502-573-1598 

PROVISIONAL ELECTRICIAN’S LICENSE APPLICATION 
Please type or print application. Answer all questions on this application. 

A nonrefundable application fee of $50 payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or electronic payment shall be submitted with 
this application. 

1. Name:   
Last First MI 

Address:   
(Street, Route or Box Number) 

 
City:   State:    Zip:      

County:    Telephone: ( )    -   

Birth Date:        

E-Mail Address:   

Check if applicable:  I am eighteen (18) years of age or older.  

2. Attach proof of experience in compliance with KRS 227A.060(5)(a) and 815 KAR 35:060. 
 

3. The provisional electrician license shall immediately terminate on the date of the one (1) year anniversary of the 
provisional electrician license issuance. 

 
I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, any other state, or the United States. YES   
or NO . 

 

If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you might not receive a Provisional Electrician license at this time. Please 
contact the Department for further information. 

 
 
 
 
Signature: Date:   

 

 
 

Attach a recent 
passport-sized, color 

photograph of 
applicant taken within 

the last six months. 



DHBC L-1 (October 2024) 
 

Public Protection Cabinet 
Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction 

500 Mero Street 
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 

502-573-0365 Fax: 502-573-1598 
 

LICENSING RENEWAL APPLICATION 
Please type or print application.  Answer all questions on this application.  

A nonrefundable renewal fee made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer or electronic payment shall be submitted with this 
application. See attached Fee Schedule. 

1. Designate the type of license:     
 

   Electrical Contractor  
 

      Master HVAC Contractor       Master Plumber 

   Master Electrician  
 

      Journeyman HVAC Mechanic       Journeyman Plumber 

   Electrician    
 
2.  Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________
  

                             Last                                      First                                               MI 
        Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________________                                                                                                                                
      (Street, Route or Box Number) 
 
        City: _______________________________   State: ___________________  Zip: _______________                         

     
        County: _________________________________     Telephone: (________) _________ -___________ 

                 
       Birth Date: ____________________      License # (list all): _____________________ 
 
         E-Mail Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________________  

 
3.    Employer Information                                                                                                                                                                        

          
  Employer Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________________
   
 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________________  
       (Street, Route or Box Number) 
   
  City: ______________________________ State: _____________ Zip: _________ County: _______________________________  
 
  Telephone: (_______) _______ - ___________ Federal ID Number: _________________________________________________ 

                        
 Please indicate to which of the above addresses you prefer to receive mail from the Department:     #2: _______ #3: _______ 
 
4. The following must be submitted with this application: 

a. Proof of completing continuing education requirements pursuant to 815 KAR 2:010. 
b. Proof of General Liability Insurance and Workers Compensation Insurance: in the form of a   

  certificate with the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction listed as the certificate    
  holder. (Only applies to Electrical Contractors, Master HVAC Contractors, and Master Plumbers) 

c. Any applicable fees as indicated on the attached chart. 
 
I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, any other state, or the United States since my 
last license renewal.  YES ___ or NO ____. 
If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, your license may be ineligible for renewal at this time.  Please contact the 
Department for further information. 
 
 
Signature: ___________________________________________________________ Date: _________________________ 
 



DHBC L-1 (October 2024) 
 

 
Renewal, late, and reinstatement fees: 
 
Contractor Electrician: $400  Reinstatement fee: $400 
Master Electrician: $200  Reinstatement fee: $200 
Electrician: $100   Reinstatement fee: $100 
Late fee: $50 
 
Master HVAC Contractor: $250  Late fee $125   Reinstatement $250 
Journeyman HVAC Mechanic: $50  Late fee $25   Reinstatement $50 
 
Master Plumber: $250    Late fee: $5   Reinstatement: $10 
Journeyman Plumber: $60   Late fee: $3   Reinstatement: $6 



Form ELM-1 (October 2024) 

Public Protection Cabinet 
Department of Housing, Buildings 

and Construction  
500 Mero Street 

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 
502-573-0365 Fax: 502-573-1598 

 
MILITARY EXPERIENCE FOR ELECTRICAL LICENSURE 

 
KRS 227A.060(4) provides that an applicant may satisfy all or part of the experience requirements for 
licensure through applicable supervised military occupational specialty experience while serving in the 
United States Armed Forces, by providing: 

1. A copy of the applicant’s DD-214 form showing the applicant’s military occupational specialty; 
OR 

2. A signed statement by the applicant’s commanding officer, on a form provided by the department, 
attesting to the fact that the applicant meets the experience requirements of the section.  

 
Please select ONE: 

 DD-214 form attached. 
 Signed statement by commanding officer completed. 

 
If submitting a signed statement in lieu of a DD-214 form, please complete the following section: 
 

I _________________________, the commanding officer of _________________________ 
(Applicant), do hereby attest that the aforementioned individual has completed _________ hours of 
verifiable supervised military occupational specialty experience that satisfies the experience requirements 
of KRS 227A.060(4)(a) while serving in the United States Armed Forces.   
 
____________________________________ 
Name of Commanding Officer (please print) 
 
 
____________________________________ 
Signature of Commanding Officer 
 
 
____________________________________ 
Date 
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